Upcoming Maganda Events and Distribution

Sorry. We’ve been a studious blog lately and haven’t had the time to write anything meaningful during this midterm season. We are lame, inconsistent liars. Or at least I am…. Yes, I am a liar… In any case, since I just finished a midterm today and I’m at work staring at the computer screen, I thought I might take this time to be more productive by updating you readers on the Maganda haps.

Next week on Thursday March 20th, we have our second Artists Dialogue/Open Gallery of the year in 170 Barrows at 7pm. You’ll get an opportunity to get personable with the artists and their work, which is always fun. If you’re interested in submitting work, it’s not too late! Just email “magandagallery AT gmail DOT com” by this Thursday, March 13th for more information.

Also, please remember to mark your calendars for our first ever Film Event on Wednesday, April 9th, more details to be announced.

And don’t forget about our most important event of the year, our annual magazine launch reception. This is to take place on Saturday, May 3rd from 2-5pm, location TBA. Contributors of the magazine get to display their work and/or perform their words as the public gets to enjoy its first contact with our 21st issue: Legal. Yay! And if you weren’t able to submit anything, don’t worry! There is sure to be an open mic after scheduled performances, and Maganda lurves first timers, so you are encouraged to start thinking about what to write, then actually writing it, and then possibly practicing it before the event. But friends, you’re getting two months notice and that is plenty of time.

As Distributions coordinator, my basic responsibility is to get our magazine out in the public. On a personal level, it is kind of hard because of lack of resources and time. So my apologies if you’re like, “WTF? I don’t see Maganda anywhere!” If you feel like you can do my job better than me, by all means I am open to constructive criticism. In fact, I’m not sure why I have never thought of advertising this before, but if you are interested in purchasing our issues, or if you have any sort of suggestions on how we can effectively distribute our magazine, please email “maganda.distribution AT gmail DOT com” and I’ll be happy to fulfill our request and/or read your advice.

On that note, if you have any comments or suggestions for us blogger(s) and/or what you would like to see more/less of, let (us) know!

– C. Fiel

Leave a Reply

