open gallery/artist dialogue

dsc_0062-1.jpg

On October 25th, 2007, Maganda Magazine hosted an art gallery and artists’ dialogue in 100 Wheeler Hall. The event featured a discussion with acclaimed social documentary photographer, Rick Rocamora–who has photographed Filipino World War II Veterans, Muslims in America, and imprisoned children in the Philippines. Oakland painter Mari Rose Taruc was also present to discuss her work and the nature of art. Both effectively work for social justice in different mediums, and the stories they shared were intriguing and inspirational.

Maganda would like to thank everyone who contributed their work to the beautiful event; it was a genuinely exciting opportunity for any artist and social justice advocate. Creative Director Christine P. talks about her experience:

Art can bring people together (if only for three hours), and it can connect them for even longer. I was inspired and touched by what I saw last night, by the art itself and by the community effort to bring art and artists together.

Rick Rocamora’s work was especially moving (I seriously almost cried) because it really hit home for me– his photographs made me think of my dad, my grandpa, my relatives still living in the Philippines, the kids who I just wanted to hold in my arms, and all the people that I want to help, but just don’t know how to help. He made my heart ache. And that’s a good thing, because I needed to be reminded of all those things I felt.

-cp

One thought on “open gallery/artist dialogue

Leave a Reply

